Forms Page
Application forms for all boards, commissions, and committees can be obtained from the City Secretary’s Office, City Hall, 709 S. Nebraska. The application is also available online at the button to complete and submit.
Forms Page

The Zoning Board of Adjustment and Appeals is a quasi-judicial board that entertain variances to the city’s zoning ordinance. Their decisions are final.

  • Irma C. Castillo
  • Eduardo Alaniz
  • Adan Magallan
  • Juan Alvarado
  • Jorge Zambrano
  • Valerie Vargas Cardenas
  • Fernando Guajardo
  • Eric Sanchez, Chairman
  • Rolando Casas, Vice-Chairman
  •  Juan Jose Vasquez, Commissioner
  • Janie Rodriguez
  • Mary Alice Navarro
  • Estella Ayala
  • Leticia Leija
  • Cleo Renteria
  • Eduardo Lopez
  • Iris Lara

The overall purposes of the board are to: *Provide liaison between community and the department of parks & recreation regarding community recreational facilities and services, needs and desires and recreation programming. *Review the department operations and maintenance budget and advise the director of the board’s suggestions regarding priority programs. *Promote public awareness of the public recreational facilities and services provided by the City and stimulate community participation in those programs. *Review operational policies for the various park facilities and recommend new or revised policies as circumstances change.

  • Mark Alaniz – Chairman
  • Dr. Stephanie Alvarez – Co-Chair
  • Claudia Alvarado – Treasurer
  • Robert Williamson
  • Erica L. Lopez
  • Rick Martinez

The Planning and Zoning Commission is charged with submitting reports, plans and recommendations to the City Commission for the orderly growth, development and welfare of the City. They review and make recommendations on zoning change requests, conditional use permits, special use permits, subdivision plats and variances to the subdivision ordinance.

  • Irma C. Castillo,
  • Eduardo Alaniz
  • Adan Magallan
  • Juan Alvarado
  • Jorge Zambrano
  • Valerie Vargas Cardenas
  • Fernando Guajardo

The purpose of the SJEDC is to promote, encourage, and enhance the creation of jobs in San Juan through projects which assist in retention and expansion of existing local business and industry, attract new businesses and industries by assisting in their development and growth in accordance with the Articles of Incorporation and The Act.

  • Arturo Guajardo Jr.
  • Alfredo “Fred” Rodriguez
  • Israel Garza
  • Pedro Contreras
  • Aaron Garza
  • Jesus “Jesse” Ramirez
  • Ruben Navarro
  • Ignacio Almaguer
  • Pete Garcia
  • Melisa Gonzales
  • Alfredo Tevino
  • Jennifer Villareal – President
  • Yvonne Lopez
  • Robert Ramirez
  • Homer Villareal
  • Rubio Muñiz
  • Mario Garza